Open Letter to the U.S. Embassy Kampala

21 09 2010

Ugandans have always had a very bad habit of NOT complaining. Today, I want to give them hope that we can also speak out and complain! Everybody else will complain when they are being treated unfairly but Ugandans. This is probably because the country’s freedom of speech and democracy is still uncertain. So, people will always be reluctant to complain even when they have to.

I am one of the 18 people from all around the world who won fully paid scholarships in Washington D.C. to participate in the Evoke Summit starting September 27th – 30th courtesy of the World Bank to share their vision of the future on different topics.

Because I am a Ugandan, I needed a non-immigrant visa to the U.S. I applied for the visa through the U.S. Embassy Kampala, Uganda using their online application system on the July 23rd, 2010 and had to schedule an appointment through the online system. The earliest open appointment I found was on September 7th, 2010; 7.40Am – so I scheduled that one and got a confirmation.

On September 7th, I went to the U.S. Embassy. I paid $140 non-refundable visa fee for the Business class visa. 40 minutes later they called me in the small room for the interview. The Consular Assistant (interviewer) is behind the glass and she starts politely by asking my name,

Then three more question followed:

1. What are you going to do in the United States?

I am going to the U.S to participate in the “Evoke Summit” (September 27th – 30th) – I got a scholarship from the World Bank to share my vision for the future at the EVOKE Summit in Washington DC.

2. What is your job?

Currently I am a part-time Volunteer – Technical Support Program at Women of Uganda Network. And also a Freelance Consultant, Social Media and use of New Media for Advocacy and Development.

When I answered this, she responded in a very rude tone – “first you said you are a volunteer, now you are saying you are a consultant”!

3. Can I have your invitation letter?

I provided the invitation letter and the Consular Assistant kept a copy of my invitation letter from the World Bank.

She gazed at the letter for about 10 seconds. She stood up and said, “I am sorry sir, I cannot issue you a visa today. For details read that letter”. She said this as passed on my passport and she walked away from the window.

The letter she gave me looked like a photocopy. It was addressed to “Dear Applicant”

The letter stated that “We regret to inform you that you have been found ineligible for a nonimmigrant visa based on section 214(b) of the U.S. Immigration and Nationality Act (INA)….”

In the letter, there was no specific reason to justify the reason for the denial and it didn’t explain the circumstances under which I am ineligible for the U.S. visa.

I called the U.S. Embassy Kampala operator a couple of hours later to inquire on what to do next. The operator advised that I reapply through the online system and reschedule a new appointment.

On September 8th, I wrote this email to the Consular U.S. Embassy Kampala to complain and this is the feedback I got from the Consular Section on September 20th (12days later).

Meanwhile the World Bank offices in Washington D.C. and Kampala Uganda were very helpful in terms of emailing the U.S. Embassy in Kampala to submit more documents and evidence to support my application.  However, the U.S. Embassy must have ignored all this.

On September 15th, I reapplied for the visa and scheduled a fresh appointment for September 21st , 2010 (7.40Am). I got a confirmation from the system and printed it out.

To my disappointment, when I went to the U.S. Embassy this morning (September 21st), my name was NOT on the list of applicants expected; hence I was denied access to the U.S. Embassy! I provided evidence for my appointment but the embassy official who was crosschecking said he was unable to assist me. If my appointment was canceled for any reason, I think I deserved a call and explanation – but all I got was “sorry sir, you are not on the list!” When I talked to another Embassy officer at the reception over my name not being on the appointment list for the confirmed day, he said ‘ekyo si kizibu kyange’  translated as (“that’s not my problem….”). Now this gentleman is a Ugandan!  And its such a shame he does not know how to treat a fellow Ugandan! – It’s a shame.

My complaint is not the visa denial, but I think there is no transparency in the way my issue was handled.

I have written my final

My questions/ conclusion:

1.       Is the U.S. Embassy Kampala serving Ugandans or here on a diplomatic mission to serve just the U.S citizen here? (no offense my American friends).

2.       What shows that I am ineligible for the U.S. visa?

3.       Where is the receipt for the $140 non-refundable visa fee I paid on the September 7th? – I asked this question in my email complaint to the Consular. And in the response from the Consular Section 12days later, nothing was said regarding the receipt issue.

4.       What happened to my appointment? I think the U.S. Embassy Kampala has the responsibility to call applicants to inform them that their appointment was canceled or whatever happened to it. I deserve and explanation here!

5.       How many Ugandans have similar cases and they are keeping quiet? Of course there must be many from other parts of the world too.

6.       Is this the same way people are treated everyday when they go to other embassies? Or is it just the U.S. Embassy?

7.       Whats “e-mail” for if I have to wait for 12days to get feedback from the U.S. Embassy Kampala? E-mail is becoming one of the quickest modes of communication around the world. And its such a shame that the U.S. Embassy Kampala is still struggling to deliver timely information over email and then they encourage use of their online application platform.

Just to give you a brief picture of what non-immigrants from the U.S. do when they want to travel to Uganda, they pack their bags, board a plane and come to Uganda. At Entebbe international airport, they pay a couple of dollars for the temporally visa. And that’s it! You already know what a Ugandan has to go through to travel to the United States!

My fellow Ugandan LEARN to SPEAK OUT!

Comparing U.S. Embassy Kampala to U.S. Embassy Nairobi

  • U.S. Embassy Kampala serves applicants on ONLY 2 days a week – Tuesday and Thursday. U.S.Embassy Nairobi works Monday – Thursday.
  • U.S. Embassy Kampala needs up to 5 working days to respond to an email (in my case it was 12days). U.S.Embassy Nairobi will respond in 2 working days.

When I read the information on the two websites, the U.S. Embassy Nairobi seems to be more transparent. – Thats my opinion.

MUST READ: Visa rules INHUMAN, Uganda tells UK, US

Actions

Information

30 responses

21 09 2010
Maureen Agena

My heart bleeds with anger. I had a friend who went through something similar and all she did was cry, like Javie said that we never speak out.

I have traveled to Europe but honestly, it has always been easy for me as long as I submitted all the documents they requested for. I think the treatment Javie received is not fair and like he suggests, such things should be communicated in advance. I feel bad too for his hosts who spent lots of money on his air ticket and for the fact that they will (If Visa is not granted by Friday) miss out on his brilliant ideas on the vision for the future as a youth.
US embassy Kampala, you need to do something about this. Javie is one among the thousands who have been treated badly. He has managed to speak out because he is a citizen Journalist and as we all know……they are voices of the voiceless in society.

21 09 2010
TMS Ruge

Maureen, this is beyond elitist in my view. I think it is unfair to charge $140 only to deny us without an actual reason. I would understand if Javie had a specific reason why his application was lacking details, but it sounds like he had everything. If there was information missing, please outline which pieces of information are missing. After all, he is paying $140, the least you can do is provide actual services for the price paid. Smugness doesn’t cost $140. Have stringent immigration policies fine, but go the distance and communicate what it is that was denied.

This is opportunistic of the USA embassy and very much a double-standard. They cry about wanting us to develop but immediately institute policies meant to keep us where we are. Bill Clinton just spoke re: the MDGs. Surely this would embarrass and contradict everything he just said on stage this morning.

Then again, words are easy. Promises are easy. Bringing those promises to life and actually practicing what is preached seems to be the missing last mile.

Javie is one of the most articulate, young men I have ever met and I think given the opportunity to engage with the world, could come ahead a true leader for the next generation.

I think the US Embassy acted inappropriately in this case. Here’s hoping that there’s a resolution, if not… see if you can find your way to a high speed connection and present via Skype screen share. I’ve done it and it has worked well.

22 09 2010
jssozi

I cannot agree more Teddy. They say they are promoting developing in countries like Uganda. And then, they impose all this bureaucracy on us? And they think that everybody wants to move to the U.S. Well, they are wrong. If Uganda is a hole full of mud (in that when you get out you dont want to get back in) they should not be here.

And I am going to make a virtual presence. I already have my MTN 3G+Which will help me to make my presentation. And to follow a couple of the events.
Thanks for advising Teddy and for adding your voice.
You are one of a handful of Ugandans in the diaspora who are trying to develop our country. And your effort are very much appreciated!

21 09 2010
Ethnicsupplies

This is discrimination of the highest class, the folk working at that embassy are incompetent. They denied my aunt a visa to attend her daughter’s wedding in Florida but luckily she had contacts that helped reach the Ambassador which is wrong in itself but it was the only way for her to get to the wedding. It sounds like you came accross the same woman she had to deal with.

I would propose that you get this letter published in the national press out there and perhaps send it to some US based news papers too!

22 09 2010
jssozi

So, part of the problem is just with this woman (Consular Assistant) then! I mean, I am complaining about her, you are complaining and then my other friend says here friend went through a woman who treated her the same way.

Your aunt was lucky to be that connected. There is not many Ugandans who will know the Consul in person – you know?

I am trying to get it into the papers here. I am not sure how easy it would be for me to get it into New York Times or any other paper in the U.S. – Open to suggestions here.

22 09 2010
ethnicsupplies

I spoke to my auntie last night to see if she could connect you to the person who intervened on her behalf and ti transpired that he is out of the country. She was furious still that it took folk in high places to get folk at the embassy to give her a visa and wondered what happens to folk like you that do not know anyone in high places!
I would suggest that you email those newspapers directly and hope for the best!

10 09 2015
Jackson

Sozzi did you finally get a visa.

21 09 2010
Sengendo Mark

Sorry brother. i think there is lack of professionalism in the way we do our work. its very absurd you had to get such an answer from a fellow Ugandan but we need to learn how to speak out. its amazing that the countries we look up to have embassies with people that lack professionalism in what they do. very disappointed and hope they read this and get to do their work right. thanks for speaking out for the voice less. how about putting it in the next issue of kampala dispatch just to expose these lazy people who take years to reply mails.
US EMBASSY, DO YOUR WORK!!!!

12 09 2014
Hiren Patel

I agree with everyone , in simple if its called visa fee then if they decide not to issue a visa they must refund visa fee and charge only application fee and it should not be more then a 50k Ugx. how much stationary Costs??

its like when they come to Uganda and at the airport if the officer decides to not to issue a visa they will depot without charging visa fee because the person is not entering in the country ,the same ,they must apply if the person is not entering in their US , why do they charge visa fee??

22 09 2010
Help Communities Who Need It By Volunteering | Find Secret Places

[…] Open Letter to the U.S. Embassy Kampala « The African Timer […]

22 09 2010
Moses Owiny

The vision for the youth shall still remain in Javie, it was indeed a missed opportunity.I hope the African Embassies world over including the U.S should take this as a lesson to improve….those of us who like his ideas will always benefit through his numerous experiences and ideas in the various social and new media platforms he has and i know sooner than later he gonna get a bigger opportunity to share his ideas!

22 09 2010
Maureen Agena

Moses, there is still hope that Javie will get his Visa. He has not yet missed the opportunity until confirmed.

22 09 2010
Esther

I did not have a problem at the US embassy but I know friends who have. Javie I have heard stories like yours many times. Apaprently the lady who was interviewing judged whoever had gone for the interview rather quickly and did not give them an opportunity to explain.
The feeling at the US embassy is such that everyone wants to go to the US and may never return. But there are good examples like us who have proved them wrong. So they should know that as well.
Javie I know you are well travelled and you have always come back so they should look at travel records as well.
They should have phoend the employer to find out if the documents you are presenting and what you are claiming to be as a volunteer and consultant is actually true. People have to be treated faily in everyplace be it at a salon, butchery or US embassy. PERIOD.

22 09 2010
Charles E Bbanda

This is insane, well the biggest issue here is people being mistreated and they have no platform to discuss or pave a way out.
Lets take this opportunity and wipe the non clear and irregular practices:
change we NEED!

22 09 2010
Edward Ronald Sekyewa

Sorry Javie. I really get too annoyed by such treatment you received from the US Embassy. Those fellas do not know that they are making many other people miss the opportunity of learning more from you. I have had such experiences before in Europe and I have had to say f**k off to many people I thought were treating me without respect. You will be surprised to find that those fellas who are tossing you around are nothing but “Chicken-heads” as I normally call them, nothing but roaches in their heads. I’m sorry for my language, but I really get pissed off by such incidents.
Javie, you deserve better and if they wont give you their bloody visa, let them go hang with it. You can give me that letter and we shall publish it in our next issue of the Dispatch.

22 09 2010
Ole Tangen Jr.

As Ssozi’s friend and employer (an an American) I am astounded that they treat people like this. Ssozi is one of the brightest and talented Ugandan that I have met in my time here.

Not only is his treatment at the embassy an insult to him and all Ugandans, it is an insult to the American people.

The people who would meet and interact with Ssozi in Washington DC would be better for it. Noone is better off when Americans treat people like this.

Good luck Ssozi! Wish I knew how to help you.

23 09 2010
Richards Junior

Its so sad Javie ‘US EMBASSY UGANDA its high time u stop being proud using that office as ur home “! You were sent here to help people who need to travel for your information’ Mean you dont Trust world Bank? or its Nothing to you! because if u can give people u drink with Visas without Any Document and appearing then how about Javie who had all it means? I Also know some one who Complained about that Woman thats how they treat people @US EMBASSY UGANDA even security guards put orders at your embassy So unproffesional !!!!Change is needed imediatly As we are trying find ways of linking this info to concerned persons to do the needful we need to do something to save others and America at large ,,,,,,,,,Ithink that woman is on mission to spoil America…..
Am sure something will come your way Javie…..wish you knew and use Nairob so organised……………..Good Luck……

7 10 2010
Ssali Marl

Something should be done for sure to safe guard America’s image. I don’t know who gave a job to that woman , to be the US consular. Very uncivilized…..and proud.

This should be published in New York Times , those who can help , please help because this year has been a mess for Ugandans who are working, studying and doing other activities in the US.

Am surprised, she even denies students VISAS…..that is what i have found out, many students have not gone to school for studies in the US, and some of them who had come for holidays she denied them visas to go back for studies.

23 09 2010
Manga Che

This is a common occurence in US embassies across the world. For another perspective, read the ordeal of prominent Cameroonian writer and peace activist George Ngwane who was also denied a visa to attend a US-sponsored conference: http://www.gngwane.com/2005/09/my_visa_ordeal_.html

29 09 2010
buffyb

Oh Ssozi I’m so sorry this has happened to you, how unfair!

I’m glad you still get to present virtually, will we be able to watch it anywhere on the web?

4 12 2010
bet365

hi I was fortunate to look for your blog in digg
your Topics is marvelous
I obtain much in your blog really thank your very much
btw the theme of you blog is really quality
where can find it

8 12 2010
Greta Brentano

Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so here i am!.I am looking for ways to add things to my blog!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

24 02 2011
liane

i think some of the girls working their need personality transplants, had a bad experience today. Didnt even want their visa needed some info but i was spoken to like trash by one Freda at the reception. I dont know how such people can be employed in customer care with such arrogance. Like someone else said we need to speak out and if neccesary name and shame these people in the media!

11 03 2011
Mzungu

Everyone commenting should calm down a bit. As you know, the US Embassy is not the only bureaucratic barrier in Uganda. I am an American, working in Uganda for the past four years.

I am now reapplying for a work permit. My first application process involved 31 trips to the Min. of Internal Affairs. I was denied several times (without reason) before finally getting my permit. In the process, I was forced to purchase a “Special Pass” for myself and my wife–three times! The special pass lasts 3 months each time. And in 9 months, the MIA could not process my work permit request.

Now that I am reapplying, I have made 14 trips to that office. I began the process 5 months before my permit was set to expire, yet I find myself having to purchase another special pass due to incompetence and inefficiency.

These bureaucratic procedures are standard with everything from a bank account, to anything with URA, UMEME, water, etc. Please don’t act as if the US Embassy is acting in an elitist way.

I agree that things should have been handled much better, but this is not the only bureaucratic problem in Uganda.

11 03 2011
jssozi

@”Mzungu” I am NOT surprised that you mention this. It such a shame that the Ugandan “system” is all broken. Sometimes I wonder whether there is any integrity left in the public offices. An example I can give you is the hassle graduates go through when they seek to obtain their Academic transcripts at Makerere University – you cannot imagine.
Back to the point: The US Embassy should serve as a GOOD example here. NOT to follow the trend (broken as it is).
In other wards, I was not amused to learn that the US Embassy could act so inefficient – the loss I had to incur for this incompetence was huge!
Its for this reason that we should advocate for better standards in services. And this we can only achieve through speaking out!

10 10 2015
nikos

can i contact to u sir …………..am going to apply for a visa but got no knowledge abt it

12 03 2011
Mzungu

@jssozi You are right. . . we must demand better standards of service of Uganda and the US. Your post was spot on. I’ve been helping a friend with a visa application and find the two day appointment system a joke.

I am only addressing commenters who refer to this as “elitist” or boarder-line racist. I’ve heard too many stories of “pastors” in Uganda getting a visa, jumping on a plane to the US and then disappearing. They have reason to be hesitant.

But not providing you adequate reasons for denial, and delaying your procedure is uncalled for. I’m only asking the commenters to remember their own country and calm down about a foreign embassy.

13 09 2012
Joe

that woman again!!!those are the only questions she asks,i just smiled to her,thanked her,got my passport and went out.what amazed me is that i meant around four people that same week who were complaining about that particular lady,she is rude .And even found people who got visas that day celebrating that they had escaped that room.There is a time i was in kabalagala,i saw this same lady in the embassy car,funny thoughts started rigging within me,even thinking of assaulting!People should value $140 its not small money.

10 10 2015
nikos

please joel i need to talk to and advise me0701053185

24 03 2015
Daniel

An Open letter to the Embassy of
the United States in Addis Ababa,
Ethiopia
By Yosef Yacob, PhD | September 18,
2012
Corruption appears to have reared
its head at the American Embassy
in Addis Ababa
For prospective foreign students and
visitors, aside from the time and
resources it takes to apply, the
primary impediment to securing a
student of visitor visa is often
establishing their intent to return to
their home country at the conclusion
of their visit or study.
While consular officers have
essentially unfettered discretion in
determining eligibility for a visa, this
can be done by showing the
interviewing consular officer
evidence of compelling ties to the
home country, such as family,
property, employment, etc.
However, with a high volume of visa
applicants, this is often a difficult
proposition, as an interview for a
nonimmigrant visa can often last
only a few minutes with very few
questions from the interviewing
officer.
The end outcome in most instances
is a predictably harsh determination
not based upon merit, facts, and
evidence but rather dictated by the
need for expeditious decisions.
In light of the circumstances,
demanding pre-payment of visa fees
US $160.00 [through Abyssinia Bank]
, and then summarily rejecting
legitimate applications on the basis
of predisposed decisions, have
become routine practice at the US
Embassy in Ethiopia.
Moreover, prospective students are
also required to pay an additional
US $200 00 SEVIS fees for each
school to which they have been
admitted [in order to secure the I-20
Form], before they are denied a visa
after a brief 60 second interview by
an arrogant and patronizing
“Consular Officer”.
This payment is in addition to the
[average $200.00] application fee
paid to one or more institutions in
the United States and the US $
160.00 to take the TOEFEL Test,
which the American Embassy
demands of Africans.
Typically, after assuring that all visa
and SEVIS fees had been paid,
without a meaningful interview or
explanation, the bewildered and
outraged applicant is immediately
handed a printed statement in
Amharic, finding the applicant to be
an “intending immigrant”, and
invited to leave.
Habitually, despite the fact that an
F-1 visa is intended for Academic
and English Language Study, Africans
are denied a student F-1 visa for the
Intensive Language programs or ESL
programs routinely granted to
students from Europe and Asia.
According to the Consular Officer at
the US Embassy in Ethiopia,
“Ethiopians can study English in
Ethiopia and need not go to
America.” [Direct Quote]
The sum of US $900.00 is the
equivalent of nine months’ salary of
a university graduate [for example
high school teacher] in Ethiopia. To
any one who is alert, sixteen
thousand Birr is the equivalent of a
life time savings for many of the
applicants and their families and a
significant financial sacrifice in light
of the cost of ever escalating cost of
living in Ethiopia.
To add offence to injury unsuccessful
applicants are invited
to re-apply in six months time to
suffer the same fate and indignity in
consideration for yielding the
remainder, if any, of their savings.
Aside from the perceived financial
duplicity and economic loss, the
maltreatment, humiliation, and
contempt suffered at the hands of
embassy visa personnel is not only
scandalous but legendary.
It is compelling that the Embassy is
attentive to the sentiments of those
with whom it interacts because each
unflattering contact may have an
unfavorable lasting effect.
On January 19, 2012, President
Obama issued an Executive Order
designed to improve visa and foreign
visitor processing and travel
promotion in order to create jobs
and spur economic growth in the
United States.
Among other initiatives, the
Executive Order provides as follows
with regard to visa processing
abroad, particularly in high volume
countries:
Sec. 2. Visa and Foreign Visitor
Processing. (a) The Assistant
to the President for Homeland
Security and Counterterrorism
shall, consistent with Presidential
Policy Directive 1 or any successor
documents and in coordination with
the Assistant to the President and
Cabinet Secretary, maintain an
interagency process for coordinating
the implementation of regulatory
improvements and the
evaluation of legislative proposals to
enhance and expedite travel to and
arrival in the United States by
foreign nationals, consistent
with national security requirements.
Moreover, the Mutual educational
and cultural exchange act of 1961
[22 USC CHAPTER 33 – MUTUAL
EDUCATIONAL AND CULTURAL
EXCHANGE PROGRAM] seeks to
“…enable the Government of
the United States to increase
mutual understanding between the
people of the United States and the
people of other countries by means
of educational and cultural
exchange; to strengthen the ties
which unite us with other nations by
demonstrating the educational and
cultural interests, developments, and
achievements of the people of
the United States and other nations,
and the contributions being made
toward a peaceful and more fruitful
life for people throughout the world;
to promote international cooperation
for educational and cultural
advancement; and thus to assist in
the development of friendly,
sympathetic, and peaceful relations
between the United States and the
other countries of the world.
A wealthy country like America and
particularly so perceived by the
Ethiopian population, can ill afford
the image of pocketing meager
savings of applicants in bad faith.
The present policy is an ill-conceived
pitiable practice which will not be
without consequence and hence the
potential detriment carefully
weighed.
The appalling and reprehensible
practice is not only infamous but
the multiplier effect widely sustains
the perceived unfair conventional
impression of America as a nation
and people nurtured by arrogance
bent to practice condescension
without restraint even in the host
country.
Imagine the attitude of the average
Ethiopian towards an American US
Embassy employee when observed
outside the fortress in Entoto. It is
not doubtful that over whelming
affection will not be among the
boiling sentiments.
Increasingly, the presence of the
United States is viewed with deep
resentment in many countries.
Despite all of the good deeds,
investment, generosity, and noble
intentions of this great country,
these wicked practices re-enforce the
claim that the American presence in
Ethiopia is for the purpose of
furthering unilateral American
benefit and interfering in the
domestic affairs of the country
rather than furthering respectful
mutual gain.
As an Ethiopian American, I am
obliged to call upon the US Embassy
to review the wanton practices and
mindsets, lest the Embassy
transform more friends and
particularly university students and
future leaders into embassy and flag
burning antagonists.
Not every applicant for a non-
immigrant visa is an economic
refugee or intending immigrant and
not every applicant for an immigrant
visa is engaged in a fraud scheme.
Conclusively pre-supposing and
characterizing each applicant as an
intending immigrant without any
evidence is patently unlawful and
wrong.
Non-appealable denials of visas to
visitors, legitimate spouses, and
students on ludicrous and unlawful
grounds have become the
unmitigated norm. Ethiopian Muslim
women in particular, I am told,
believe that they are unfairly
targeted for scrutiny by the embassy
and subsequent denials of visa
applications and rumors widely
circulated to that effect.
While the malefactors and the ugly
Americans who are comfortable
behind concrete walls of the
embassy grounds may be immune
from the dire consequences of their
decisions, I for one do not like
witnessing the ever escalating
negative expressions about the
United States.
These Embassy misfits have tainted
and stained America’s image in the
eyes of those who are being directly
and indirectly victimized daily by
their arbitrary decisions.
I have humbly e-mailed the
American Ambassador several times
in a sincere attempt to draw his
attention to this predicament; and
to remind him the perception and
affection of common people perhaps
more so that the high powered
government officials are material to
the destiny of the relationship
between the two countries. To the
observant, recent events in the
Middle East and Africa are testament
to the hypothesis.
Those of us privileged to be
Ethiopian Americans cannot remain
oblivious and complacent in the face
of disparate, unfair, and duplicitous
treatment of our relations and
ignore the surrounding horror
stories.
I am obliged to again call upon the
Honorable American Ambassador to
Ethiopia to not abandon the fate of
America to junior consular visa
officials who have not demonstrated
maturity and sensitivity in their
actions.
It is incumbent that the Embassy
pays heed to the ultimate effect of
treating Ethiopians in a manner not
consistent with citizens from other
countries seeking to study or visit
the United States.
The adjudication standards are the
same and should be applied
uniformly. Many of the applicants
may be poor and black, but they are
entitled to fair and considerate
treatment.
Demanding US $160.00 from
thousands of people each week, to
enter the hallowed Embassy grounds
for a one minute interview to be
denied the application is
unconscionable and immoral and
will not gain the affection of the
thousands victimized and the
tenfold who are informed.
The embassy should reflect on the
unethical and unfair scheme which
compels pre payment of fees to
effect a pre-disposed decision to
deny the visa applications.
A wealthy country like the United
States can at the very least refund a
portion of the visa fee if an
applicant is legitimately denied the
request – better yet, adjudicate each
application fairly and respectfully on
merit rather than pre-conceived
attitudes.
Yosef Yacob, PhD

Leave a Reply

