Visa Denial – Letter to U.S. Embassy Kampala

21 09 2010

Sent: Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:56 AM

To: KampalaVisa@state.gov

Cc: WORLDBANK

Subject: Visa Denial – Please Advise!

Dear Consular,

This serves to express my dissatisfaction on the decision that was made by the Consular Assistant following the visa interview yesterday and the American Embassy Kampala.

First off I didn’t get any receipt for the $140 that I paid for the Business visa that I applied for.

And then in my interview I was only asked three questions –

1. What are you going to do in the United States?

I am going to the U.S to participate in the “Evoke Summit” (September 27th – 30th) – I got a scholarship from the World Bank to share my vision for the future at the EVOKE Summit in Washington DC.

2. What is your job?

Currently I am a part-time Volunteer – Technical Support Program at Women of Uganda Network. And also a Freelance Consultant, Social Media and use of New Media for Advocacy and Development.

3. Can I have your invitation letter?

I provided the invitation letter and the Consular Assistant kept a copy of the invitation letter from the World Bank signed by WORLD BANK (also CCed in this email communication) and I have also attached it here.

I was given a letter “claiming” that I was found ineligible for a nonimmigrant visa based on section 214(b) of the U.S. Immigration and Nationality Act (INA).

I think I deserved a chance to provide evidence that I am eligible for that visa type.

Please advise on what I can do in this regard considering this happened just a few weeks ahead of the summit and its my first time to apply for a U.S. visa!

I will be very happy to hear from you.

Regards,

Ssozi Javie

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 09 2010
Open Letter to the U.S. Embassy Kampala « The African Timer

[…] September 8th, I wrote this email to the Consular U.S. Embassy Kampala to complain and this is the feedback I got from the Consular Section on September 20th (12days […]

15 12 2010
bet365

hello I was fortunate to find your blog in google
your Topics is wonderful
I get a lot in your topic really thanks very much
btw the theme of you website is really fabulous
where can find it

19 03 2011
Weli jelle hassan

With due to requested and regard Iam here kindly and keenly forwarding my application to your office
iam somali refugee women who is currently and legallay since 1991 and confronted alot of hardships in the camp further more i need ur asistance

4 08 2016
priscilla

helo
thank you for your blog. i experienced the same problem just yesterday. i was only asked three questions and none of my back up documents were looked at. After three seconds, the gentleman behind the glass passed me a letter of denial, photocopied! just like yours! it was the worst day in my entire life…he even told me am still young to travel (at 23..) truly we spend money on these applications. something should be done…soon.

Leave a Reply

